skip to content

Announcing the Finalists for the Everlaw Summit Awards

Celebrating the Most Innovative Legal Leaders in the Profession

by Rachel Gonzalez

For the second year in a row, Everlaw Summit will be bringing together some of the most exciting members of the legal profession: innovators who are at the forefront of legal transformation, technologists who are changing the way litigation and investigations are done, and lawyers, paralegals, and litigation support professionals who are working every day to chart a straighter path to the truth.

The Everlaw Summit Awards celebrate their achievements. The Everlaw Summit Awards highlight the inspiring work of innovative legal professionals in tech enablement, organizational transformation, innovative breakthroughs, and more!

After receiving many nominations throughout the month of June from across the industry, we’ve narrowed the nominations down to a set of three finalists in each category. 

The winners will be selected by our esteemed panel of judges, made up of:

  • Maeghan Ottrey, Director of Litigation Support at Fidelity Investments

  • Shana Simmons, Chief Legal Officer for Everlaw

  • Alex Hafez, Director, Solutions Architects at Everlaw

  • Ryan O’Leary, Research Director at IDC

  • Nora Ahmed, Legal Director for the ACLU of Louisiana and 2022 Summit Award winner

The selection process is based on merit and excellence within any given category. This process ensures that the judges’ results are truly reflective of the commitment, excellence, and talent of the winner. The top three finalists in each category will receive a complimentary 3-day pass to Everlaw Summit. Winners will be announced live at the event.

And now for the finalists in each category:

Corporate Breakthrough of the Year

For corporate legal departments transforming their approach to litigation and investigations in-house.

  1. Hewlett Packard, represented by Thane Vallette, Associate General Counsel

  2. United Airlines, represented by Paul Noonan, Counsel - Ediscovery

  3. Intact Financial, represented by Bryn Jones, Senior Litigation & Audit Manager

Innovative Breakthrough of the Year

For leaders in ediscovery that are using technology in innovative ways.

  1. Jennifer Baumann, Associate County Counselor, Administrative Law Manager at St. Louis County

  2. Pam Collier, Paralegal at North Carolina Department of Justice

  3. Dawne Herbert, Litigation Project Manager at Seyfarth Shaw

Impact Agent of the Year

For paralegals and litigation support professionals making measurable impacts in their organizations.

  1. Jodi Hanslick, Enterprise Information management Analyst with the City of Minneapolis

  2. Deborah Sleeth, Paralegal II at Signature Aviation

  3. Christine Bracken Moore, Paralegal at Clark Partington Moore

DEI Change Agent

For those demonstrating a commitment to diversity, equity and inclusion by mentoring the next generation of legal professionals.

  1. William Vance, Chief Technology Officer at Adams & Reese

  2. Diandra Zimmerman, Partner at Dicello Levitt and founding member of Shades of Mass

  3. Luke Liss, Pro Bono Partner at Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati

Rising Star in Ediscovery

For professionals with seven years or less of legal experience whose early accomplishments distinguish them as future leaders in the profession 

  1. Lara Rosenberg, Associate at Brown & Peisch PLLC

  2. Elizabeth Sanford, Partner at The Sanford Firm 

  3. Michael Altebrando, Of Counsel at Benedict Law Group PLLC

Join us in congratulating all of the finalists for their inspiring contributions to the industry. We’re thrilled to highlight and honor the achievements of individuals and organizations who are pioneering change and innovation in the legal and ediscovery space.

To learn who is named the winner in each category, be sure to reserve your spot at Everlaw Summit, coming to San Francisco October 10-12, 2023. We look forward to hosting you soon.